BIRDS 50 – BLACK-HEADED GULLS IN FLIGHT

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

.
newq_0308X
.

Winter plumaged Black-headed Gulls at Herons Green, Chew Valley Lake, Somerset; 27 Sept 2013.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO.

.

newq_0352X
.
One of the smaller gull species, these birds display more buoyant and tern-like flight than the larger Herring and Lesser Black-backed Gulls.  “BhGs”  are often seen acrobatically diving down into gardens to take food scraps,  making shrill screams quite different from deeper calls of their larger relatives.  They have distinctive red bill and legs, and a prominent white blaze on forewing – best seen in the last of the photos here.

.

In the photo above, I’m interested to see how the flow of air over the wing is ruffling some of the wing’s feathers.

.
..newq_0315X

.

As sometimes happens with english names for birds, Black-headed Gull is a misnomer.   The breeding plumage adult has a dark brown hood – and in winter this is reduced to a dark mark behind the eye – as seen on the birds here.

.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to BIRDS 50 – BLACK-HEADED GULLS IN FLIGHT

  1. I love rhese birds. The last one is my fave. So carefree. I wish…

    Like

  2. krikitarts says:

    Whoa! Something is wrong! There’s a ferret in the chicken house! In three of the four images, you got the whole bird in your frame! Ahem, excuuuuuse me, I get a little carried away at times. Love that first shot most especially! It seems, though, that someone should change their official name to something like “black wing-tip primary-feather gulls.” Or are these juveniles?

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Maybe this signals a new and conventional attitude on my part – I may be wearing what you call neckties before too long >>>> and thinking about nothing but the bird, the whole bird, and nothing but the … Or, then again, maybe I won’t … and …. it doesn’t …. and I aren’t …

      And have I heard your “excuuuuuse me” before >>> haha, yes, and its much liked!

      No, these are winter adults – but in breeding dress they’re more distinctive. I think you have quite a few gulls with dark hoods over there, but we really only have this one, which is common, and then the less common Little and Mediterranean Gulls.

      Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    Well captured, Adrian.

    Like

  4. Sonali Dalal says:

    beauty of a series! Well captured in motion!

    I have been missing your pictures! Participated in a group show. So last month was very hectic. It just got over. I have a lot to discuss about it with you. Will soon write to you.

    Many other interesting development. Has made me so excited! made me forget about all pains 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Looking forward to hearing from you, O Great Indian Lady – as always! 🙂 Thanks for your good and kind thoughts!

      I’m so glad that your pains have taken a back seat for a change. Now I’m paining too – tho not as badly as you – my right elbow is causing me to say “”£$)&^%$££$^&*!!!!” – and more than once too!!!

      Like

  5. bananabatman says:

    Tread carefully Adrian.

    Like

  6. bananabatman says:

    This is a great series Adrian. The photography is excellent. The ruffled upper wing feathers seem to me to be a great demonstration of the principle of aerodynamic lift.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

