ARCHIVE 54 – WOOD PIGEON (MONO)

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

.

.
Wood Pigeon at the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust, Slimbridge, Gloucestershire;  11 Aug 2010.

A close in portrait, shot against a dark, unobtrusive background.  Once again, close in use of a telephoto throws the background right out of focus.

The largest of Britain’s pigeons and a common and increasing bird – an agricultural pest and one of the few birds that can be legally shot here.  They are in our garden every day, and I love both the slow, deliberate, ponderous manner in which they waddle around – and the way they clap their wings during their soaring display flights.  I ate a couple a decade or more back but was unimpressed with both the taste and quantity of the meat.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 400 ISO; mono conversion via Capture NX2.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to ARCHIVE 54 – WOOD PIGEON (MONO)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    one of your lovely bird close-up!

    Like

  2. This is a startlingly wonderful portrait. The expression is priceless! I like it very much.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I think he was startled – he’d just caught sight of me edging up behind him toting a large telephoto – he probably thought he was about to be blasted into featherlets! 🙂 Glad you like it – your bird portraits are super! Adrian

      Like

  3. Jimi says:

    Awesome detail, I like the fine structure of the feathers.
    Jimi

    Like

  4. bananabatman says:

    A great portrait Adrian. We have a pair of Wood Pigeons that have made our garden their waddling spot and they never cease to entertain us. We need to watch them from indoors, as they are much more nervous of humans that their cousins that live and work in town, just a few hundres yards away. Dave.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hello, Dave – I like “waddling spot”, I must get one! – thanks for your appreciation! I hope you’re both fine – I saw on the news that all main roads into Yeovil were cut by floods – have you been affected? Adrian

      Like

      • bananabatman says:

        Thankfully we live on a hill Adrian, and all is well. I also suspect that the news item exagerated the situation a bit. Some roads were effectively closed for a while, but I think that with a little effort, routes in and out could be found. Not sure that I would like to live on your beloved ‘Levels’ at the moment though. Have you visited since the floods have been at their worst?

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          No, I haven’t been down there since that stormy day, but must do so soon. The reports on Points West have mostly been from south of the Polden Hills, where Muchelney is / was seriously cut off – I’m nearly always north of the Poldens. I think a government Minister has at last admitted that the rivers down there need dredging (incl the Brue)!

          Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

