GARDEN 41 – AUTUMN CARPET (TWO VERSIONS)

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

.

sbgr_378X 

.
Our Hazel, dark and massive and still with a few pale leaves, stands proud of its autumn carpet; 18 Nov 2013.

The extreme wideangle lens is pointing downwards, and the leaves in the foreground appear to be close under the camera.  Everything left of centre leans out towards the left, and everything to the right (including our fence, top right) vice versa.

I think I prefer the colour version here, its how it was or, rather, its what I saw through the viewfinder – and I love this garden and its autumn colours.

The mono version is quite different.  Its much darker, its really built around darkness, darkness that is cut / illuminated by those white leaves, both sprinkled across the ground and still hanging from the tree.  Both versions would benefit from larger reproduction I think, the mono version more so.

Which version do you prefer?

D800 with Sigma 12-24 at 12mm; 800 ISO; the mono version created with Silver Efex Pro 2’s Floral Style preset.

.


.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

22 Responses to GARDEN 41 – AUTUMN CARPET (TWO VERSIONS)

  1. Malin H says:

    I prefer the b&w (mono). Surprised? 😉 No I don’t think so.

    Like

  2. Sonali Dalal says:

    I prefer the colour version here for sure. And there is sense of motion here! As if all the leaves are falling towards me. I hope I make sense. I love it.

    Like

  3. For me definitely the mono version. Great photo!

    Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    It’s so difficult to choose a favourite. When I saw the colour version I thought: Yes! A lovely image from your garden of your wonderful hazel. The colours are beautiful.

    Then I scrolled down and saw the b&w and thought I didn’t like it as much but that’s because it was unexpected and it didn’t have the immediate impact of the colour one. Having looked at it again, I love the white leaves amidst the darker areas of the trunk and soil.

    The colour version edges it for me.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, I can imagine you preferring the colour version – but those white leaves in the mono version do lift it I think – but I’m surprised that the mono one came so close to the colour one for you … are you drifting … ever so slightly … towards the … Dark Side …. ??? … 😉 …

      Thanks for your kind thoughts, my friend! 🙂

      Like

  5. LensScaper says:

    The images almost explode across the screen – To my mind the colour is what makes this image successful – lovely muted autumnal tones.

    Like

  6. icastel says:

    I like both, really, but for quite different reasons:

    The first one is quite lively and colorful and the wide angle gives a vertigo-inducing feeling (in a good way).

    The second one, on first impression, seems like little creatures swarming either toward or away from the tree, I can’t decide which. I like that effect 🙂

    Both are definitely interesting, Adrian!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Igor, glad you like them – the 12mm lens really makes for striking images >>> like vertigo, yes, just as firstandfabulous (the Comment below here) has mentioned – everything in the frame is on the move – spreading, pouring, sprawling, leaning.

      And in the mono version the little creatures are the pale leaves, I guess. Thank for your thoughts, my friend! Adrian 🙂

      Like

  7. It looks like an action shot. I don’t know if I’m making my point here. It feels like your moving. It feels like I’M MOVING! Nice.

    Like

  8. krikitarts says:

    Definitely the color one, if you’ll overlouk the alternautive spelling. What we need now is the warmth of the glorious autumn palette. The dark space at the upper right looks like a little cave, and is very inviting. I’d love to explore its depths…Wonderful use of the wide-angle, my friend!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      You’re absolutely right, Gary, we need the warmth of those colours. That dark space is a “wildlife shelter” made years ago by our neighbours’ daughter – a place where wildlife can rest, out of the weather – as I said to the darling girl’s mother at the time, we’ll just have to hope that nothing actually comes and sits in it, or we’ll never hear the end of it! As far as I know, nothing has come near it – perhaps I should erect a “Please rest your furry self here” sign ….

      Thanks for your good thoughts, Gary! A

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

