RAB C NESBITT IS BACK!!! (this post has nothing to do with photography)

.

.

I am a huge and utterly unrepentant fan of Rab C Nesbitt, who featured in numerous BBC comedy series years ago.  Who is he?  Well, a rougher than rough, totally workshy, drunk from Govan in Glasgow – and something of a philosopher too.  His dress code?  Dirty, torn, old suit above a grimy string vest, and a dirty headband below unkempt hair.

.

His words?  All of the characters in the series speak broad Glaswegian, and many people that I know, including some family (OMG, that’s a bit close to the bone … almost shameful, really), can’t understand a word they’re saying – but for me that only adds to the programme’s allure.  And my having worked in Scotland years ago probably helps things too.  I often found myself between trains in Glasgow’s Queen Street station in the middle of the night, and loved the atmosphere – especially on the night I was carrying a set of Red Deer antlers …

.

Well, the good news is that – maybe only for a couple of Christmas programmes – he’s back >>> and I totally, 100%, urgently urge you to see them on Catch Up TV (BBC iPlayer – www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer  ; look under Comedy), while you still can.  They were broadcast on BBC2 last Thursday evening – 2nd of January – and so will be available on the iPlayer until late afternoon or so next Thursday.

.

HEALTH CHECK: the content is wonderful >>> but its also certainly raw, indecent, crude, profane, blue and a tremendous affront to civilised sensibilities, with a vast, vast absence of good taste – so don’t say I didn’t warn you!!!!!!

.

There are two programmes.  At 10pm (well after British TV’s decency watershed!!!) on Thursday 2nd Jan, there was a 45 minute, new episode.  I’m not a great fan of remakes of long past TV shows, but despite that this is worth a look. 

.

But better I think is the programme that followed, at 10.45pm on that Thursday – “John Sergeant Meets Rab C Nesbitt” – in which the veteran and very well respected TV reporter and commentator, John Sergeant, interviews Rab.  John does it very well, and the programme contains many Rab gems from long ago.

.

Both programmes had me laughing deeply and guffawing, in a way that modern “comedy” rarely does.

.

I urge you to take a look at them while they’re still available – I’m hoping that this presages a new Rab presence on TV.  Meanwhile, I’m going on to www.play.com to see if I can get any of the old series on dvd.

.

ENJOY – BUT DON’T SAY I DIDN’T WARN YOU!  (I can hear the reactions now …. “and we thought Adrian was such a nice young man … and … clean cut … and … and  … he told us that … most days …  he prays ….”)

.

Adrian

.

.

.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

11 Responses to RAB C NESBITT IS BACK!!! (this post has nothing to do with photography)

  1. Meanderer says:

    I used to enjoy watching old Rab back in the day. I also remember watching ‘Naked Video’ where he first appeared. It was a sketch show.

    The episode which sticks in my mind is the one where he and his wife along with Jamesie and his wife go to Spain – I think. I remember Jamesie getting horribly sunburnt and looking like a lobster and having to be taken to hospital in an ambulance. Funny the things which stick in your mind!

    I didn’t realise these shows were on over Christmas. Thanks for the heads up.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      My pleasure – and I remember the Spanish episode too – there’s a bit of it in the John Sargent programme – Jamesie in a thong … seen from below waist level – not for the faint hearted! 🙂

      I’ve ordered the first 8 series from Play.com for only £30, which as a reviewer says is only £4 or so per DVD, which can’t be bad. Now at last I’ve got something to fight back with against my wife’s devotion to Eastenders and Coronation Street – but then I’ve always been able to threaten her with Das Boot – “three hours under the North Atlantic … in a German submarine …” … 😉 …

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        Oh, yes: the thong! I must have erased that memory from my mind 🙂 You’ve quickly brought it back, however!

        I have a fair few box sets of old classic comedy series – they don’t make ’em like that anymore!

        But …. you have mentioned the classic movie: ‘Das Boot’. It’s one of my favourite films.

        Like

  2. krikitarts says:

    Hey, Adrian, tried to watch Rab & the Sergeant, but the TV video only plays in the UK. Thanks for the invitation, anyway–hopefully some day!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh that’s a shame, although what you might have made of it heaven only knows – you might have broken off all contact with this rotund hooligan, on the grounds of severe disillusionment, together with breakdown of civilisation as we know it! 🙂

      I was so impressed, and so reminded of the Old Days – and then received a 100% supportive Comment from Patti Kuche – that I went straight onto play.com and bought a set of the first 8 series, which I’m eagerly awaiting. Trouble is, my wife can’t understand a word of it and hates it – you can’t win ’em all! A

      Like

  3. Patti Kuche says:

    As I posted the other night on Facebook, I had forgotten how much I love the old Rab and his crew. As you say, the interview with John Sergeant was so good and it all had me rolling around. So good to know I wasn’t on my own!!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Haha! >>> and I’m so glad to know I’m not on my own!!! If anyone takes the time to look at these programmes I’m seriously wondering what they’ll make of them but >>> I’ve nailed my colours to the mast!!! A 🙂

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

