SOMERSET LEVELS 126 – STORM 3 (MONO)

mm

.

.
Pollarded Willows, buffeted by wind and rain, on Tadham Moor; early on the morning of 23 Dec 2013.

More about pollarded Willows can be found here .

Other pictures in this Storm series are here (with context) and here .

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 135mm; 25,600 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2’s Grainy Portrait EV Neutral preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

11 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 126 – STORM 3 (MONO)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Atmospheric! By blocking the view beyond these big trees in the front helps in creating the mystery.

    Like

  2. krikitarts says:

    OK, you want our candid thoughts, and you’ve provided me with lots of yours–for which I thank you yet again! This one, though graphically dramatic, is a bit too somber for me to able to say that I really like it. I don’t see the hope that I’ve come to enjoy from your other offerings. Sorry to splash cold water on this, but hey! If we all liked the same things in equal measure, what a dull world it would be!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gary, I always value your words! I can be dark, I know, you’re not the first to say this – but I enjoy creating images, and if they end up dark, then that’s just how it is.

      See, you’re at one with M here – down below here, she’s talking about light and hope in images, bur despite her urgings, I still find that a very difficult concept to encompass – its just not a part of the way I think, I suppose.

      Also its interesting that light should be so universally associated with hope, and with truth too I suppose. Over the millennia – since cavemen feared the dark nights? – we have been programmed to fear “The Dark Side” – what do you think?

      So, as always, I’m quite at one with your candour, and grateful for it – always say what you think! A

      Like

  3. Malin H says:

    Oh My God!!!
    I want this on my wall!!
    Enough said. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I like it when you call me your god but, really, I think you should find something less bizarre to worship – what about plain digestives with slivers of cheese on top ….? …… πŸ™‚ ….. behold the digestive with cheese slivers on top … which takes away the slimness of the world …..

      And you CAN have it on your wall, as I’ve just fired off a full quality jpeg of this picture via email to you. Please do with it as you like, no thoughts about copyright etc at all. I hope it prints ok – I can also send replacements if needed.

      I’m very glad you like this image so much! A πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Malin H says:

        πŸ˜€ Okey… Plain digestives with slivers of cheese on top πŸ˜‰

        I can’t thank you enough Adrian. Thank you so, so much! I will print it when I have enough ink in my photo printer, and I will also put your name on the back of the photo frame. And I will tell friends that will ask about it when it hangs on my wall, that this is from my dear friend Adrian in Bristol. πŸ™‚

        Thank you once again my friend!

        Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful! Dark, brooding, foreboding – but there is a sign of hope and light through the darkness. Wonderful.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m glad you like it – but see how different we are! I’d never think of the sign of hope and light thing in a million years, but you’re right in there! Of course I see what you mean, and of course I’ve learnt something – thank you! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. This is superb…you have caught all the drama and majesty of the storm

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

