2013 in review

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2013 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 17,000 times in 2013. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 6 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to 2013 in review

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Where do I find this?

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      It will have come to you as an email from WordPress – the same email address as that which you use to receive Comments on your blog – somewhere around New Year’s Day. A πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Hey, I found it. Seventeen post viewed 14,000 times. Not too bad for an old hermit who can’t focus and doesn’t post much. Chuckle… I never think about such things, but I am just so grateful to the people, like you, who encourage me, Adrian. Bless you, my child… Chuckle…

    We’re gonna have a heck of good time this year! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Haha!!! >>> “Bless you, my child”???????????????????????? I’m a big, fat, bristly, old man – but if you want to call me your child that’s just fine by me!

      Yes, we are gonna have a heck of a good time. You just look after yourself well, my dear friend, and I’ll be over to your blog real soon! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Well, heck, they took us to the opera house this year. Last year it was Sundance or some film place. I haven’t gotten one on She kept A parrot yet. If I did, I deleted it accidentally. Something I often do. I think you accomplish precisely what you aim to do here. I love the images and I really appreciate the narrative too. Even I can understand!

    Have yourself a dandy 2014 and keep on telling us how to do it! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Phew, George, you are an absolute delight!!! >>> and I see in your follow up Comment that you’ve found your WordPress stats – great >>> I’m coming over there to see them! You’re far from the only one who makes accidental deletions, believe me!

      And THANK YOU for the very good and generous things you say here – I’m a little taken aback – and mightily pleased too!!!

      I wish all the very best for 2014, George – and I look forward to many more chats – and I’m going to get one right now when I look at your second comment! Adrian πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. If more people knew, you’d have ten times the numbers. Fabulous shots, Adrian. Happy New Year. xxx

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gemma, thank you very much! It would be untrue to say that I don’t care about numbers of hits on my blog – getting to 50K was satisfying – but being creative is certainly my main thing – and I’m unsure about just how to get more people “in the know” re my blog.

      I use WordPress’s Publicise facility to post tweets onto Twitter every time a new FATman Photos post appears. This facility can make posts to Facebook and Google+ too, but whether I want to get into those I don’t know – Google+ would probably be my choice, although I know nothing about it – tho I’m sure Sonali Dalal could help me there.

      Anyway, for now, HNY to you too – and thanks for believing in me! πŸ™‚ A xxx

      Like

  5. icastel says:

    Adrian! There went another year. Thank you for sharing your photographs and ponderings with the world. I really enjoyed seeing the world through your lens(es) … a fresh perspective on many things, for sure.

    Here’s to a happy and great 2014, sir!

    — Igor

    Like

  6. Meanderer says:

    I love these end of year stats review extravaganzas! (phew that was a mouthful). I’ve never posted mine before but thought I would today. What amused me about yours was seeing the name of your blog ‘Fatman photos’ up there in a fancy font. It’s interesting the names we choose for our blogs, isn’t it?

    I remember coming across your blog coming up for three years ago when I used to flick through the photography tag when it was in its old format. I remember thinking your images were wonderful and unique but feeling quite initimidated by your photographic knowledge and expertise. I decided not to make my presence known then. Eventually though, I found the courage to comment and have been a follower and huge fan for about two and a half years now!

    It is always a pleasure and a delight coming over to see your interpretation of the wonderful things you see around you – and also your images from way back in Africa. You also have such a personable way about you which is open and accessible. Although you know lots about photography, you want to teach in a non-patronising and non-superior way which is much appreciated.

    Keep on keeping on, Adrian. Here’s to 2014 πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Golly, aren’t you nice?! What good things you have said! I feel very touched, and also humbled.

      I don’t know if I do want to teach, but I’m certainly glad that I don’t come over as patronising or superior. Its just that there does seem to be such a lot of crap and rubbish talked about photography, and I just want to cut through all that and just urge people to just get out there and do it >>> don’t worry about whether its art or not, rack up those ISOs to great heights, don’t get precious about prime lenses (tho I have one superb one), don’t go overboard on rules of thirds or any “rules” come to that, don’t worry about judges’ views >>> all these damn frustrating things >>> I just want to urge people to get out there and do it >>> and Sonali and I are agreed that what matters in a photo is content first, then composition, and then quite some way behind, sharpness, white balance and all those other dreary technicalities.

      I’ve writing a post about articulating visual feelings, it’ll be out soon, and it touches on these points; and there’ll also be something about Right and Left-Brained photographers too – which is not my brainchild, but something I read.

      I was in two minds whether to post these 2013 stats or not – but its done!

      I thought I found your blog all those (2!) years ago, but maybe I found it through Comments coming from you. I can certainly remember those early blogging days, not knowing what to do, feeling rather isolated and alone “out there in the ether”. Wow, how on earth have we made it this far???

      FATman Photos? Because I don’t take myself too seriously, because I love laughing – and often at myself – maybe it should have been a more dignified Marmaduke Golightly Photography, for example πŸ™‚ and I could have one of those badges that you see on jars of jam that the queen eats and probably spills all over her regality.

      I’m going to end as I started – and no I haven’t been at the cider (yet) – I just want to thank you for the wonderful things that you have said. I’m taken aback, and also very bucked up …. no …. bucked up …..

      THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ And you keep on keeping on too!

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

