SOMERSET LEVELS 125 – COLD DAWN

mmm
.

.
Cold waters in the early morning beside Westhay Moor Drove; 23 Dec 2013.

Flooded peat workings in the early morning, using Levels & Curves to darken all but the waters’ early morning, reflective surface.  To me, this speaks of wild country and the winter’s cold.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 25,600 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

17 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 125 – COLD DAWN

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Twilight! Reminded me of Jackson Pollock for some reason.

    Like

  2. Malin H says:

    The blue hour … very atmospheric.
    Very nice image Adrian!

    Like

  3. Love it, Adrian! Brrrrr…but that blue is beautiful. xxx

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Gem, glad it chills you! 😉 How are you getting on? I’m receiving less frequent blasts from ATP, although we’re receiving your weather blasts in abundance! A

      Like

      • I’ve been taking a little break. I’m getting on well. Today was Jeff’s 65th so we headed out to dine – Italian of course. Now I am totally stuffed and need to veg out on the couch with a bottle of vino. I should be sawing off some Z’s any minute now. Ahhh. The benefits of getting old (er). 🙂 Sleeping on the couch comes easy. Now if I could just transfer that to the bedroom, I’d be set! Go figure.

        Happy new year, my friend. ATP
        ☮ ♪♫♪

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Well happy birthday to Jeff – for yesterday I think! I love your mention of the couch and the Z’s, I’m just the same – I tend to get up early, often 5am-6am, but then glory in a nap on the sofa after lunch.

          Thank you for your seasonal wishes – and a very good New Year and 2014 to you and Jeff from us!!! Take care! ATP x

          Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful! It exemplifies the Winter chill very well. Such a beautiful shade of blue.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, M – a (quite severe) Levels & Curve tweak has made “real” what I had in my mind that morning – which was only six days ago, its seems remote now – an effect of Christmas intervening I suppose. Hope you’re good! A 🙂

      Like

  5. krikitarts says:

    Now, that’s one of the coldest images I’ve seen in a long time. I like your choice of the square format and dividing the fields into nearly-equal thirds very much; it’s very effective here!

    Like

  6. Patti Kuche says:

    A wonderful image of the cold!

    Like

  7. Brett says:

    Very nice image!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

