ARCHIVE 52 – COTTAGE IN PEASLAKE (MONO + COLOUR)

mmm

.

.
Cottage in Peaslake, Surrey; 25 Mar 2012.

A glorious sunny morning in Peaslake, and this cottage caught my eye.  I often find rural cottages in affluent areas far too prettified and picturesque, but here the overlapping blue trellises on either side of the darker front door, and the blue window frames, all looked good and relatively uncomplicated.

I cropped in tight so as to fill the composition with (most of) the trellises and window.   Then followed conversion to mono, and restoration of the blue colouration of the trellises and window frames, in SEP2.

Apart from the dark surrounds to the front door, the image has been made pale and pastel by lightening the highlights and blues, and by the application of a thin, pale vignette.  This image would be better presented on a dark background.

D700 with 24-120 VR Nikkor at 120mm; 800 ISO; converted to mono and further minipulated in Silver Efex Pro 2.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to ARCHIVE 52 – COTTAGE IN PEASLAKE (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    lovely processing!

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    Like it, very relaxing. 🙂

    Like

  3. Malin H says:

    This almost feels like a painting.
    Very dreamy image… And I agree with Sheila; serene.

    Like

  4. Wow – what a lovely, serene image, Adrian! the colours are soothing. Have a very Merry Christmas and an amazing 2014!

    Like

  5. Meanderer says:

    I love how your images are not simply a photo of something – but a sort of glimpse of memory which can reach out and have meaning to different people. This image feels so familiar – like a place I have been but it is fuzzy and faded in the realms of my memory banks.

    Hope you are chilling out nicely. I had to do a quick visit to Waitrose early this morning but am chilling nicely now. Bought some ‘Meantime’ chocolate porter and some spiced mulled cider. Will get that warming nicely this afternoon 😉

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Well, my friend, I don’t know if that’s what my images are, but if that’s how you see them – and goodness knows you know your way around images – then I’m very happy to hear that. I don’t take them with that intent, but then I know I keep away from purely pictorial shots – I have a shot of St Ives with some boats in the harbour, but then its just that, a postcard maybe, of St Ives and some boats, and somehow that doesn’t do it for me.

      So I’m happy and intrigued to read your first paragraph – you haven’t been at that porter already, have you???!!!???

      Yes, I’m chilling, thanks – the plan is a few days of relaxation, food and drink. Yesterday was quite hard work – but a challenge!

      Have a good time! A 🙂

      Like

  6. bananabatman says:

    You are right about the dark background Adrian. Without it, I found the image quite difficult to view. On black, it is excellent. Dave

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

