SOMERSET LEVELS 122 – ANIMAL (MONO + COLOUR)

mmm
.

.
Cow, Tadham Moor; 1 Nov 2013.

Animal.  Something wild, unpredictable and quite uncontrollable, calmly gazing at you with that cold eye.  Something capable at any moment of bursting into bellowing, trampling, all-crushing rage.  Something that all of the instincts and memories inherited from our forebears tell us is dangerous, and to be avoided.

I very much like the cool, measured gaze from beneath the stiletto lashes.  And to prove that I’m no hero, should you take out your Sherlock Holmes magnifying glass (deerstalkers, as usual, are optional), you can see one of the bars of the stout farm gate that was separating us.  I also like the swirling patterns in that coarse, wet hair – the eye appears to be looking out at us from within an eddy or whirlpool.

I’ve taken the image into black and white and increased contrast and structure, to bring out the patterns in the hair.  I think I added some creamish toning too – a great favourite.  And lastly I’ve added something subtle by restoring the very pale purplish colour in the eye and its surroundings.

D800 with 80-400 Nikkor at 400mm; 3200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2’s Yellowed 2 preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 122 – ANIMAL (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    One more of your close up 🙂 and I like it!

    Like

  2. I saw that color in the eye. Very subtle and very effective. I love it when color is added back without making itself look that way. Great image. 🙂

    Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    ‘Measured gaze’ is absolutely right. And you are right to have a strut or to of metal between you and the animal. I don’t trust cows.I like the idea of that tinge of colour in the eye.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      No, much as I like cows, I don’t trust them either – they’re rather too large and unpredictable. I think the colour tinge has worked – subtle is the name of the game, and maybe Gary Bolstad (krikitarts) is right about my having made the green of the moss too intense (Moss on an apple tree). Thanks for your thoughts, Andy! Adrian

      Like

  4. krikitarts says:

    It looks like you were fortunate to have that gate between your self and the owner of that ominous eye. I really like the almost-subliminal violet tinge you’ve put back into the sclera, making it even more dramatic.

    Like

  5. Helen Cherry says:

    Looks like he/she is about to cry! Sorry I’ve been so absent from your blog.. meeting myself coming back at the moment !

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I have that effect on people 🙂 … Don’t apologise – blogging is time consuming and Life has many other things to be getting on with – I’m never keeping up these days. Hope you’re fine! Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

