CORNWALL 73 – LACE CURTAINS, WITH RESTRAINT AND WITHOUT (MONO)

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

.

.
Camborne; 9 Oct 2013.

Here were these lace curtains, fluttering in the breeze, in a barely open window on Camborne’s main street.  I like the graphic nature of the shot, lots of rectangular white shapes, condensation inside the window top right, the dark, rough and granular textures of pebble dash around the left and bottom of the frame – and amongst all this sharpness and hardness, those softly fluttering white curtains.

Aside from being in black and white, the upper shot is looking towards reality.  I’ve taken care not to blow the whites, i.e. to let them explode into blazing featurelessness (is that a word???), and the application of a creamish tone has helped considerably with this.  I like this soft SEP2 tone, I use it a lot.  I’m ambivalent about the use or borders on images but, since my blog has white pages, I’ve added a very thin black border to clearly delineate the edges of the shot.  Presented on the black pages of a Blurb book, the black border will merge with the background.

The lower shot is far less disciplined and has gone for effect rather than restraint.  Contrast has soared.  The whites are mostly blown into featurelessness, and much of the pebble dash has descended into featureless black.  The delicate lace curtains are still there, they still look real, but they are now looking out a blazing midday and a darkest midnight, there together.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2’s Architectural (above) and Silhouette EV+1 presets.
.
.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to CORNWALL 73 – LACE CURTAINS, WITH RESTRAINT AND WITHOUT (MONO)

  1. Helen Cherry says:

    I much prefer the top one.. highlights are too blown out for me in the bottom one..

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    I like the first one. To my mind, behind the curtains there’s a little grey haired lady with tiny spectacles on the end of her nose pouring tea into her best china cups and sharing homemade cake. 😀

    Like

  3. Malin H says:

    I really like the first one and I think I prefer this version. Feels like there is so many secrets, whispering…

    And as I wrote in a comment before, this kind of images takes me back, childhood memories.. flickering short films that pass by from when I grew up.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh yes, secrets and whispering behind net curtains, stories we only partly hear. I’m glad I’ve sent you back in time, if only for a moment – I know just what you mean about the flickering short films!

      Like

      • Malin H says:

        Good to hear that you know what I mean about flickering short films. We all have our own short films in our heads. And we all have different memories, and it’s very interesting sharing memories and thoughts with other people.

        Like

  4. Featurelessness? Now you’re making this stuff up! But I actually get it. Surprise!!! (The “narration” helps.)
    Be well…ATP

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m glad you get it – better try dropping “featurelessness” – along with “I say!”, “tickety boo!” and “Dunno, do I, Squire!” – into everyday conversations, and people will soon be pointing you out in the street. I know you like narrations – glad they’re useful.

      Thanks. Trying to be well. ATP xxx

      Like

  5. Meanderer says:

    Oh – definitely without restraint 🙂 Very much prefer the second image – the lacy net curtain rules!

    Hope you are feeling better, Adrian. A little ‘tincture’ of something Scottish might help!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I have to hold my hand up (I have an arm for doing just that) and admit that your comment is exactly contrary to what I would have expected! I would have thought that you’d be right in there with the more restrained version (Window In Bondage?), but I am very gratified to learn otherwise – just how formal can I get, Duchess? Good stuff! Thank you very much for your good thoughts, M!

      And I am getting better, thank you, but its rather a drawn out process.

      But I’m very much up for tinctures >>> please send Tincture Parcel soonest 🙂 !!!!!!!!!!!!! A

      Like

  6. RobynG says:

    Love that window!!!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

