BIRDS 46 – CROW SCARING STARLINGS (MONO)

mmm
.

.
Starlings are flustered and scattered as a Carrion Crow flies in amongst them, on the Somerset Levels’ Tadham Moor; 1 Nov 2013.

There is another image from these moments here .

D800 with 80-400 Nikkor at 400mm; 1600 ISO; Silver Efex Pro’s High Structure Harsh preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

23 Responses to BIRDS 46 – CROW SCARING STARLINGS (MONO)

  1. krikitarts says:

    Late off the mark here, Adrian, trying to catch up a bit as time allows, but have to tell you that I love how you’ve caught the details, agility, and concentration of the landing crow. What a great catch!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Haha, why am I reminded of Apocalypse Now??? >>> “Charlie don’t surf!”. Well, in the same vein, “Lateness don’t matter!” >>> I’m always late!!! 🙂

      Glad you like the crow! That old 80-400 “D” Nikkor of mine was really struggling to keep up with it as it veered in towards the wire – I can only salute Nikon’s engineers!

      Like

  2. Sonali Dalal says:

    Now this one is one amazing shot! Bravo :).

    Like

  3. Helen Cherry says:

    I absolutely love this.. the cropping is most excellent. something about birds in flight for me..

    Like

  4. Malin H says:

    I like this a lot.
    And of course… makes me think of the movie “The Birds” 😉
    I like the harmony in this. Fantastic image! And moment.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you very much, Malin! Ah, “The Birds” – have you ever been attacked by birds? I think that in Sweden you have birds we call skuas – they’re jaegers in the USA, and they are very aggressive. Years ago, on the Shetland Islands, we strayed into a breeding colony (they breed on the ground) and they attacked us, swooping in and striking our heads – it was frightening of course, but also an incredible wildlife experience, something I’ll never forget – and would love to relive! A

      Like

  5. The bird on the wire shots remind me of when my friend, Gen, and I were teens. We would look out the window and say things like: “If two birds land on that wire in front of St. Anthony’s church in the next 15 seconds, Mike and Ralph will call us.” Ha! Never worked! Dumb kids! (Them, not us!!!)

    Like

  6. Meanderer says:

    Superb action shot!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, M! I followed the crow in with my (relatively) old zoom wheezing and groaning – or it might have been me doing that. Slight health problems at the moment but I’m getting there – and greatly looking forward to my Christmas bottle of malt whisky – Highland Park. Hope you’re fine! A 🙂

      Like

  7. Dave says:

    I really like this one, Adrian. Especially the prominence of the crow and the startled starlings scattering in the background.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

