VEHICLES 27 – PARKED CAR REFLECTING CHAOS AND TWO WOMEN (MONO + COLOUR)

mmm
.

.
Park Street, central Bristol; 3 Dec 2013.

The chaos and complexity of a city, perhaps.

I’ve restored the reds and magentas in an understated way, and this has given slight flesh tones to the faces of the two women, which serves to extricate them slightly from the mainly black and white mayhem that surrounds them – in all of this urban stone, metal, plastic and glass artificiality, only they are organic, real and alive.

Looking at this, (urban) chaos and mayhem are what hits me.  And especially so now, in the run up to our nation’s Great Buying Frenzy.  I used to work down in central Bristol and that inevitably colours my thoughts, but I have to say that Tuesday’s visit to the city centre produced some negative vibes – which is probably why I mostly head out the other way, into the countryside.

There is another image of reflections in a car’s bodywork here .

Canon G11 PowerShot at 99mm (35mm equivalent); 800 ISO; Silver Efex Pro’s Full Dynamic Harsh preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

16 Responses to VEHICLES 27 – PARKED CAR REFLECTING CHAOS AND TWO WOMEN (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Brilliant image! Reflection, cars everything wonderfully merge into each other and make for a lovely image!

    Like

  2. Malin H says:

    Great (reflection) moment! 🙂

    Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    Caught those women exactly in the right bit of the frame. I like the grungy processing.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Andy! Catching things exactly right with the G11 owes quite a bit to luck, but this has worked. In reply to a letter from me, the new editor of Amateur Photographer says that the Canon G1X has a vary-angle screen too, tho I don’t know if its as vari-angle as the G11’s.

      Grungy? Not sure what that means, but have innate belief its very much my style … A 😉

      Like

  4. This is an awesome image! Thanks for posting this.

    Like

  5. bananabatman says:

    Another super ‘reflections’ photo Adrian. I really like the way that you have emphasised the human element within this ‘chaos’.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Dave, I’m very glad you like it. Hope you’re both fine. Adrian

      Like

      • bananabatman says:

        We are fine Adrian. Just a bit hectic preparing for Christmas, learning a new camera and trying to set up another website. Hence, few posts on the blog.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Dare I enquire what the new camera is, or are you going to be coy?

          Like

          • bananabatman says:

            Let’s just say that it will take my collection of Olympus 4/3 lenses and it has made me very poor. So far I am very impressed, but actually haven’t had much chance to get out with it yet. There is only one camera that fits this bill, so yes, I might as well say it is an OM-D E-M1. I just hope that I can do it justice.

            Like

            • Adrian Lewis says:

              There is not the slightest question of YOU having to IT justice, Dave >>> it is a tool that you are going to use to do however much or however little you want! I may have to come down there and sort you out.

              I haven’t a clue about much of what my cameras can do, I just use the bits I need. And there are one or two aspects I’ve tried to use but have completely failed to – but that’s life 🙂 !

              I wish you lots of interest and pleasure with it. Being a former OM-1 and OM-2 user, I have a lot of respect for Olympus – if only they wouldn’t go and get themselves into financial scandals! A

              Like

  6. Meanderer says:

    Brilliant! I love this. It captures the ‘chaos’ of busy towns and cities so well. The reflections are so strong that one almost forgets the object which is reflecting them! Love the monochrome and the subtle red.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

