SOMERSET LEVELS 118 – SUNRISE AND GLASTONBURY TOR 2

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

.

.
Sunrise over Glastonbury Tor, seen from Tealham Moor; 22 Nov 2013.

I’ve lightened the centre section to bring interest to the mid-ground with the two cows – but I’m sure they should have shadows … oh dear, digital … not always quite up to it are you?  Or maybe I’m not quite up to it – its probably me.

And of course I’m pointing my magnificent if distinctly weighty telezoom straight into the sun’s glare, and so to a second, orange sun low down in the frame, and also some rather fiery glows between that sun and the real one.  I could have gone at it with software to try and make good these optical artefacts but, first, I can’t be bothered, and second, I think they add to the atmosphere and feeling of the shot – I mean, I’m pointing a x6 telephoto directly into our star’s incandescent face, so what do I expect, perfect and pristine optical rendition?

I like the 80-400.  Large and unwieldy it may be and its not one of Nikon’s very quick AF-S lenses, but it is image stabilised and I can hand hold it, and it gives such reach and flexibility.

An earlier image in this series is here .

D800 with 80-400 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 118 – SUNRISE AND GLASTONBURY TOR 2

  1. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful image, Adrian. It must be wonderful to be there so early in the morning.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, M, I’m glad you like it! Yes, its always good to be out and about at “daystart”, there is a quietness and a stillness, and a feeling of quietly thrilling anticipation, especially in a place like that. But of course this is all far more easily achieved with Early Morning Garden, rather than on more distant flatlands!

      Like

  2. Malin H says:

    Simply beautiful, Adrian!

    Like

  3. This is superb…really beautiful

    Like

  4. chrisstov says:

    From the point of view of brightness and colour I quite like the first one, but on the other hand there is more to see in this one with just enough light to pick out the two cows.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

