STANTON DREW 6 – SUNLIGHT ON GRASS AND DANDILIONS

mmm
.

.
Sunlight on grass and Dandilions in the churchyard at Stanton Drew, a village south of Bristol; 7 May 2013.

I went for a long and wonderfully peaceful stroll around Stanton Drew this morning, in blazing sunshine.  Its a small village not far south of Bristol and not on any great routes to anywhere, and so its always a very relaxing place.  There’s a pub, the Druids’ Arms, which I think is open again now.  Its name refers to the nearby stone circles, which were once part of a vast prehistoric monument – larger than both Stonehenge and Avebury – but which, being made mostly of wood, is no longer visible above ground.

The Stanton Drew circles have nothing of the hustle, bustle and tourism of Stonehenge and Avebury – car  parking is free, admission costs £1 in an Honesty Box and that’s it! – if you like your prehistory or your paganisn untainted by the masses, this is the place for you – you may well be the only person there.

The churchyard is even more peaceful than the rest of the village, and just wonderful for a slow, contemplative stroll.  I saw the light hitting the grass and flowers, and producing dappled shade under the trees – I raised the camera to my eye, saw this, and kept my fingers and thumbs well away from the autofocus!

Impressionist?  Yes, I think so – and as in that quote from JMW Turner, most certainly a hero of mine, that I mentioned sometime back – “I did not paint it to be understood, but I wished to show what such a scene was like” ->>> absolutely, JMW, way to go, man, way to go!!!

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 200 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

8 Responses to STANTON DREW 6 – SUNLIGHT ON GRASS AND DANDILIONS

  1. Meanderer says:

    It sounds very much like Woodhenge.

    This is a really interesting image. I find it restful.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hi M! Very glad you like it – thanks! – but not many others seem to – but for me its certainly a way to go forward.

      Yes, like Woodhenge – if you’re ever over this way, I can recommend Stanton Drew.

      By the way, re our joint blog, two things. Sonali has sent a comment but I can’t approve it – I’m not at all bothered about not being able to approve it, but can you do so? Also, I’ve sent a comment with a question – what do you think? A

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        I’ll be heading over to the new blog shortly (I know – don’t call you shortly 🙂 ). I got back from a week’s break in the Dales late Sunday evening and I’m catching up with emails and so on at present (inbetween a return to work).

        In fact, the day we did our beer tasting and I set up the blog, I was also getting ready to go away. It was pretty hectic! The good thing is – when I returned home, I had the second bottle of Duvel waiting for me – at room temperature. I found it was fizzier but I preferred the taste. (Hold on, I should be writing that on the other blog; oops!).

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Well Shortly’s better than Fatso 🙂 ! I thought you’d been away, re lack of blog activity – and hoped that was the reason and not something grimmer. The Dales – great stuff! Looking forward to the photos!

          Yes, good beers have more taste at room temperature – and there are many good beers that any degree of fridging (is that a word???) destroys. Anathema!!! Oh they still get us lit up, but the glorious flavours, including the after tastes, go right out the window.

          Homecoming to a room T Duvel – one of Life’s good things! 🙂

          I’ve had one or two ideas re beers “from my world” that you might sample – its really a case of your being able to get hold of them, as not many are in supermarkets. But Pilsner Urquell from Czechoslovakia can be found – actually from Pilsen and so a genuine Pilsner >>> and >>> always fridge cold!!! A

          Like

  2. Sonali Dalal says:

    Impressionist, definitely!! Love it!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, Sonali – I love it too! But looking at the number of Likes here – and seeing that your’s is the only Comment – most people don’t like it – but that’s life, that won’t stop me creating things like this.

      I always make pictures for myself, they’re what I like. I remember reading of a man who only took pictures that he thought the judges in his local camera club would like – a very sad state of affairs! Adrian

      Like

      • Sonali Dalal says:

        oh yes!! i loved it. You are very much like me. We click what we like and all the rules can go to…!

        I recently had a discussion about it on my community on G+. Someone said that , candid portrait must show eyes,that is the rule!! One of my portraits showed one eye clearly and other was in the dark. I had to tell him that I do not follow any rules. For me what my eyes like is good for me,rule or no rule. One another photographer,excellent one,whom I admire a lot, gave a good name for my photograph, “Abstract Portrait”.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          I find it astonishing that people can believe in and adhere to such “rules” – I think it betrays insecurity maybe, and certainly a lack of courage and imagination.

          You have it exactly – “For me what my eyes like is good for me, rule or no rule.” A

          Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

