CORNWALL 36 – REFLECTION (3)

mmm
.
.

.

The prow of a small boat in Mevagissey harbour, on a still morning; 24 Oct 2012.

I think this must be the most perfect reflection photo I’ve ever taken.  Conditions were ideal – an overcast morning with barely a whiff of breeze.  This boat was moored at the quay, and the rusting chain is its mooring line.

Two earlier pictures in this series are Reflection (1) and Reflection (2) .

Nikon D700 with 70mm-300mm VR Nikkor at 240mm; 5000 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

26 Responses to CORNWALL 36 – REFLECTION (3)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    I definitely prefer the latest one you have uploaded over this one.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Sonali, I agree – but I now think that these two images are too different for comparison. This is a paler and gentler image I think – the other is stronger, with more menace and atmosphere. Adrian

      Like

  2. very nice shot Adrian! love the detail and angles.

    Like

  3. Truly stunning! Hope you are well xx

    Like

  4. Sallyann says:

    Like it lots ! 🙂

    Like

  5. krikitarts says:

    Due to a computer rebuild, I’m a little late again, but this is truly exquisite, Adrian! What a beautiful find and capture! I’ll be back up to speed soon, and will be able to respond more in depth to your wonderful works.

    Like

  6. Peter K says:

    Perfect!

    (But I keep thinking of underwear! 😉 )

    Like

  7. Graham says:

    Superb abstract photograph, Adrian. Great symmetrical reflection. I also like the muted colours and the way the diagonal lines come together — almost parallel at the top, becoming to a pont at the bottom. And the black chevron diving the image… I could go on, but you get the point!!!

    Like

  8. skuk2 says:

    Reblogged this on SKUK's world and commented:
    Reblogged from FATman photos – absolutely fabulous reflection.

    Like

  9. Helen Cherry says:

    Absolutely BRILLIANT Adrian.. your best abstract yet I think..

    Like

  10. skuk2 says:

    Oh yes, indeed I like this a lot – great reflection, and perfect exposure.
    I can easily see this enlarged hanging on a wall – is it ok if I reblog? (If I can work out how to do it.)

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Steve, I appreciate your good words! I can remember seeing this reflection below me in the harbour and then looking at it through the 70-300 and being blown away. I might try a mono version sometime, but the faint rusty notes in the chain bring something to the picture I think.

      Yes, you can certainly reblog – >>>you never have to ask NB – I’m happy for anyone to reblog anything of mine any time.

      Its the creation of images that I really enjoy and, once they’re created, if anyone wants to give them a wider audience, that’s fine with me. Adrian

      Like

  11. Meanderer says:

    Perfection indeed. This is wonderful, Adrian. It is extremely pleasing to the eye and is very restful.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

