CORNWALL 31 – REFLECTION (1) (MONO)

mmm


.
A still morning in Mevagissey harbour; 24 Oct 2012.

Its all too easy to always opt for heavy atmosphere and grittiness in mono, but here I’ve tried for something more delicate and high key.  The boat is there and solid alright, but the real subject here is its gently undulating reflection.

Nikon D700 with 70mm-300mm VR Nikkor at 270mm; 3200 ISO; converted to mono in Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Fine Art (High Key) preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

25 Responses to CORNWALL 31 – REFLECTION (1) (MONO)

  1. Sallyann says:

    Like it, very restful. 🙂

    Like

  2. Meanderer says:

    I love this. In football commentator speak: it’s a photo of two halves 🙂 There is so much detail in the top half: the rope, for instance: one can see the strands woven together. Then there is the soft ripply reflection – and that wavy rope: wonderful! Another lovely ‘moody’ image.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      What’s all this about football speak >>> you don’t watch that stuff do you???!!! OMG – never thought I’d say that but it just popped out! My world has taken a surreal lurch … think I’ll have to go and have a sit down … and a stiff cider …

      But I am glad you like it (the photo, not the football) and the more so because as I’ve intimated below, it was rather an experiment – thanks for your good words! A

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        🙂 Your shocked reaction to something I might be interested in always makes me smile (I won’t mention the Allotment: shhhh).

        I used to be a football fan – from the days when I ‘were a young girl’ and my father took me to Chelsea home games. I haven’t taken an interest, however, since the Premier League and the accompanying Prima Donna overpaid players took charge. I do, though, remember some of the famous footballing cliches and the above is one of them.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Well, it has for a long time seemed to me that making others smile and laugh is a good aim in life – something good to do – and if my ramblings make you smile, that’s great!

          Like

  3. skuk2 says:

    I too like this Adrian. A bit different from your latest images but the delicate tones work really well with the subject. Great wavy lines in the reflection too.

    Hope you had a great break, see you Tuesday.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m glad you like it, Steve. It is different from my usual “style” (I have style???), but I think its good to try other things – and I’m glad that this seems to have paid off! Adrian

      Like

  4. Excellent image of the reflection in b&w – well done

    Like

  5. Helen Cherry says:

    Oh yes.. I like this very much indeedy

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Helen, I’m glad you do! This was a bit of an experiment, so its a relief to hear its liked! Hope you’re fine – we’ve just been away for a few days, so I must look look at my pile of emails. A

      Like

  6. Paul says:

    Love everything about it, the high key, the cropping, the reflection softly rippling. Excellent.

    Like

  7. Sonali Dalal says:

    Good idea to convert it into high key. I like the wavy reflection. Cord on the right is reflected like a snake!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

